Setting Up Your Class with Class Manager

Screen Shot 2019-06-13 at 10.02.19 AM

Why do you need to set up classes on NextLesson?

NextLesson’s interactive platform includes some very useful supports and features – text to speech, auto grading, editing, reading levels, etc. In order to assign lessons for students to complete online and take advantage of these interactive features, you first must create a class within your NextLesson account and then have students sign up for NextLesson and join your class. Once set up, you will easily be able to assign lessons to students to complete online.

How does Google Classroom work with NextLesson?

Google Apps for Education users have the option to create a NextLesson account through Google, enabling Google Classroom Syncing. These teachers will have a Classroom Sync button at the top of their Class Manager.

  • Google Classroom syncing will not begin until this button is clicked.
  • Opting to sync with Google Classroom will connect the two accounts into a two-way sync. This means that students and classes added or deleted on NextLesson will also be added or deleted on Google Classroom.
  • Changes made in Google Classroom will be reflected in your NextLesson Class Manager the next time you sync.
  • Students must sign up for NextLesson with their Google Accounts to properly sync with your Google Classroom. All lesson assignment and access takes place on NextLesson.

Stop Syncing

If you do not want to sync one of your classes on NextLesson to Google Classroom, or prevent yourself from accidentally deleting a class on NextLesson and having it get deleted on Google Classroom, you can stop syncing by going into edit class, and unchecking the Sync with Google checkbox.

  • Edit a class by clicking on the pencil icon

How to Create A Class

In order to assign lessons for students to complete online or take advantage of other tools such as InterestID, you will first need to set up classes in Class Manager.

Creating a Class

  1. Click on the Class Manager icon from your NextLesson dashboard or from the orange dropdown menu found on the top right of each page
  2. Click +Add a Class
  3. Input your class information; all fields are optional
  4. Change the class icon by clicking on the default NextLesson arrow icon image
  5. Click Save

Alert! If you are synced to Google Classroom and do not wish this newly created class to appear there as well, you will need to uncheck the sync with Google box on the bottom of the class set up screen.

How to Invite Students to Join Your Class

Once you have set up your classes in Class Manager, you will want to share the join code with your students and you can then share lessons with them.

Sharing a Class (inviting students)

  1. Click on the Class Manager icon from your NextLesson dashboard or from the orange dropdown menu found on the top right of each page
  2. Select the class you wish to share from the My Classes list
  3. Provide students or co-teachers with the class join code *If your computer is connected to a projector/monitor, you can enlarge the class code so that it can be easily read by students across the room by clicking on the double arrow icon found on the top right corner of the join code
  4. Students will go to their Class Manager and input the code you have provided there. *If this is their first time on NextLesson, they will enter the code you provided as part of the signup process.

How to Edit A Class

After initially setting up classes, you are able to go back in to make edits at a later time.

Editing Class Details

  1. Click on the Class Manager icon from your NextLesson dashboard or select it from the orange drop down menu found in the top right of each page
  2. Select the class you wish to edit from the My Classes list
  3. Click on the edit icon in the upper right corner of the class details box
  4. Click Save after editing

Alert! If you are synced to Google Classroom, be sure to uncheck the sync with Google box on the bottom of the edit menu if you do not wish the edits to be made on Google Classroom as well.

How to Delete A Class

Teachers are able to delete classes they no longer need from within Class Manager.

Deleting Classes

  1. Click on the Class Manager icon from your NextLesson dashboard or from the orange menu found on the top right corner of each page
  2. Select the class you wish to edit from the My Classes list
  3. Click on the edit icon button in the upper right corner of the class details box
  4. Click Delete

Alert! If you are synced to Google Classroom, be sure to uncheck the sync with Google box on the bottom of the edit menu if you do not wish the class to be deleted from Google Classroom as well.

Ready for more? Check out: